The best one yet

I take a lot of photos of blue herons.  They are huge, easy to spot and therefore an amateur nature photographer’s dream subject.

I have a 300-millimeter lens that helps overcome the distance they want between me and them and a good digital camera that give me lots of pixels when it comes to cropping.  And I have also learned patience; moving along slowly and waiting quietly for something to happen.

All that said, a canoe is not a very stable platform to shoot from, and it’s just darn hard to get the crisp focus that makes the difference between a great photo and an average one.

I finally got a photo this weekend that made even me happy.  It was on the Quabaug River in West Brookfield, MA.

Enjoy…I call it Lunch on the Fly.

IMG_4279c

About Ron Haines

Find me at https://ronhaines.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Nature, Paddling. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The best one yet

  1. Denise says:

    Oh my gosh! That is incredible!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Like

  2. Miss Donna says:

    That’s about as good as it can get!

    Like

  3. Leslie Dreier says:

    Great Shot! Thank you for sharing it.

    Leslie

    >

    Like

  4. Roger says:

    Crazy-good shot, brother! Congratulations!

    Like

  5. Linda says:

    Love the pic. Great shot!

    Like

Leave a Reply

