Where the birding is easy

One thing that struck me when I moved to Florida from Iowa back in the 1970’s was how easy it is down here to be a birder (at least the casual one that I am).

The birds are big! No more searching among the leaves in the forest to spot one. They are out and proud! A blue heron can stand about four feet tall and a drip-drying Anhinga can display a three-foot wingspan. Hard to hide when you’re that big.

My lengthy stays in the Northeast in recent years have reintroduced me to the rigors of  northern birdwatching.  I paddle along with friends and one of them says, “Wow, look at that finch.” And I hopelessly peer into the woods, seeing nothing.

“I don’t care about them unless they’re really very big,” never seems like an appropriate response, so I just mumble something encouraging.

So it was a nice ‘welcome back’ for me the other day when this green heron made an appearance in my Florida back yard.

IMG_1552c

Green heron, Lantana, FL (Photo by Ron Haines)

About Ron Haines

Find me at https://ronhaines.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Nature, Paddling, Photos mostly. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Where the birding is easy

  1. Nice! 🙂
    I still remember fondly how excited I was when I found a Great Blue Heron strutting through our backyard, back in the early 1980s. Biggest bird I’d ever seen in person! 🙂

    Like

  2. Denise says:

    NICE shot!!!!! they are usually so skittish up here and we don’t spot them that often!

    Like

Leave a Reply

